AddSearch for multilingual websites

With our Plus package enabled, AddSearch automatically detects the language of your pages based on meta tags. When your users search, the only results displayed are those with the same language as the page you’re on. Meaning that your users never get confused by seeing results in a different language.

Can I disable language detection

Some sites may want to display all languages together in the search. For example, if most your site is in English but a couple of press releases are in another language, you’ll probably want to display all pages together in the search.

To disable automatic language detection and show the search results in all languages, head to your Settings page in the AddSearch Dashboard.

Determining page’s language

AddSearch uses two methods to determine the language of a page. If you have a multilingual website and are seeing different languages mixed together in your search results, please review that you’re using either of these methods to tell AddSearch the language of the page:

1. Set the language in the HTML tag

Include the lang or xml:lang attribute in the HTML tag, as follows:

<html lang="es">
<html xml:lang="es">

2. Set the language using a meta tag

Include a dc.language or content-language meta tag in the HEAD section of your page, as follows:

<meta name="dc.language" content="es" />
<meta http-equiv="content-language" content="es" />

The examples above set the language to Spanish.

Language information in PDF files

If you have the Plus package enabled and PDF indexing turned on, your PDF files need to have the Language meta information in place. See Adobe’s instructions how set the Language.

Supported languages in the user interface

Our search results box is translated to following languages. If you need another language let us know and we’ll work it out.

  • English
  • Estonian
  • Chinese
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Danish
  • Dutch
  • Finnish
  • French
  • German
  • Irish (Gaeilge)
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Norwegian
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Swedish